Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey how's it going? I'm looking into the idea of welding the front end to get the rake i "really" want, and of course so that the infamous trail numbers are descent.

I have a 6" degree trple tree set coming in here within the next week from VTXreme. Along with 3 " spiked extensions and 11' rear progresive shocks. So i got what i need for the 6 " degree rake... I think. But if I'm not mistaken I've heard that you can get someone to weld the front end to get that extra rake. I imagine i would need to get longer brake lines and maybe longer forks???? Correct me if I''m missing anything Please i need to know it all since the kind of person i am it's just a matter of time or money before i do it.

2nd , the funny thing is I live in Dallas, not a small town, so you would think finding someone to weld my frame would be fairly easy with the dozens of chopper shops around..... But no! nobody wants to touch a "metric"... Go figure....

My question is......Do i need to have "Motorcycle shop" do the work since they would be more qualified. Obvoiusly. Or can i get a certified welder to do the work and just give him the demensions of the stock rake and what i actually want....????

I hope i don't sound ignorant.. It's just that being my First year riding everything about motorcycles is news to me. I appreciate any help i can get.

I want to be an Easy Rider Too!! LOL :b2b:

·
Registered
3,752 Posts
A motorcycle shop will have more experience with doing it right! The biggest concern is keeping the neck in perfect alignment when welding the frame. Most chopper shops have some sort of frame jigs to do this. A plain jane welder won't and probably won't build one for a single job. If the neck is not perfectly straight the bike will pull to one side by itself.