Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a DG Hard Krome Strippers exhaust in black and was wondering what jet kit I should buy. What is the difference in stages?

·
Registered
705 Posts
If you still have your stock airbox, you really don't need a jet kit. A simple 1/8 to 1/4 turn out on the A/F screw will fix you up.:doorag:

G

·
0 Posts
You probably won't need one, but you might. Depends on a lot of factors.

I've been using the DJ kit for about 5 years, but I've heard the Factory Pro kit works good too.

Turning out the pilot screw (what some call the A/F screw) will only affect your throttle position up to about 1/8 throttle. It does NOT affect fuel flow across all throttle postions.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Do not buy a jet kit. The stock jets in your bike are already bigger than the ones that come in a kit. Adjust the A/F screw out to richen the mixture. That is all you have to do.

G

·
0 Posts
Do not buy a jet kit. The stock jets in your bike are already bigger than the ones that come in a kit. Adjust the A/F screw out to richen the mixture. That is all you have to do.
Not true. Both parts of your statement.

·
Registered
1,411 Posts
With just pipes you will probably not have to do any rejetting. Open the a/f and 1/8 turn or so. If you get some sort of open intake, you will have to rejet. I started with the scar mod, but I needed bigger jets, both main and slow. I went with the factory pro and it screams now.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Not true. Both parts of your statement.
If you buy the "standard" jet kit sold by Dyna Jet and usually pushed by dealers when they sell a new set of pipes which is also the same kit most people buy on their own when they think they need one, then you are wasting your money. The number on the jet in the kit will be a larger number than the number of your stock jet, but the stock jet is a bigger jet.